About United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS)

Visit the UCNS Website to register & for additional information

In 2001, the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) developed a Commission on Subspecialty Certification comprised of five major neurology organizations: 

  • American Academy of Neurology

  • American Neurological Association

  • Association of University Professors of Neurology

  • Child Neurology Society

  • Professors of Child Neurology

The five parent organizations had a common interest of supporting and nurturing neurologic subspecialties and proposed to establish the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS). In 2003, the UCNS was incorporated as a separate nonprofit organization with the mission of accrediting neurologic subspecialty training programs and certifying competence of physicians with the goal of enhancing the quality of training for physicians and enhancing quality health care for patients.

Physicians who pass a UCNS-certification examination have demonstrated their expertise in their subspecialty area and a commitment to providing quality patient care. Certification examinations are developed by a committee of physician experts identified by the subspecialty’s sponsoring organization(s). UCNS certification does not expire when annual continuous certification requirements are met.

Neuroimaging Certification Eligibility and Application Information

Certified UCNS Diplomates

UCNS Certification Recognition

Reasons to Become Certified

Market Your Certification